The Blog


barn_facade

barn_sign
Photos by @EastOf72nd

In Omaha’s most recent round of civic nearsightedness, the Public Works department intends to tear down the 111-year-old Omaha and Council Bluffs Street Railway Company streetcar barn at 26th and Lake Streets. For the past 60 years, Public Works has used the site as a base of operations and now it intends to tear down the building for surface parking. In addition to being an architecturally significant structure, it’s an anchor of a vibrant stretch of Lake Street in a neighborhood that has otherwise been wantonly neglected by city services for decades.

With interested buyers, there’s no sense in tearing down yet another community asset to clear land for yet another open lot in North Omaha. So, it’s time again to call city council members, Mayor Stothert and Mayoral Candidate Heath Mello (who, with any luck, will be elected next year and will help put an end to the Stothert demolition drive) to show your support for saving the complex.

More information: Omaha World-Herald story and Restoration Exchange post.

As with the successful campaigns to save the Specht Building and Yates Elementary, I’ve created a logo for use in the effort. As always, it’s free to use in any way that advances the effort to preserve the building.

Save_Lake_St._Streetcar_Barn

Here’s a full suite of logos in various formats, including vector: Logos.zip

Councilmembers
District 1: Pete Festersen Phone: 402-444-5527, Pete.Festersen@cityofomaha.org
District 2: Ben Gray Phone: 402-444-5524, Ben.Gray@cityofomaha.org
District 3: Chris Jerram Phone: 402-444-5525, Chris.Jerram@cityofomaha.org
District 4: Garry Gernandt Phone: 402-444-5522, Garry.Gernandt@cityofomaha.org
District 5: Rich Pahls Phone: 402-444-5528, Rich.Pahls@cityofomaha.org
District 6: Franklin Thompson Phone: 402-444-5523, Franklin.Thompson@cityofomaha.org
District 7: Aimee Melton Phone: 402-444-5526, Aimee.Melton@cityofomaha.org

Mayor Stothert: 402-444-5000, mayorstothert@cityofomaha.org

Heath Mello: info@heathmello.com


3060 Woolworth Ave. Omaha, NE 68105 | 402-517-1228 | contact@hanscompark.com
hanscompark.com © 2014-2017 Hanscom Park Studio
Featured graphic design and illustration © 2002-2017 Hanscom Park Studio and/or its clients